FAQs

What is VAT?

VAT is an indirect tax applied upon the consumption of most goods and services. VAT is levied by VAT-registered businesses which make supplies of goods and services in the course or furtherance of their business. VAT will also apply on the importation of goods & services.

Will VAT cover all products and services?

VAT will apply to the majority of transactions of goods and services unless specifically exempted or excepted by the law. VAT is ultimately incurred and paid by the end consumer. Although VAT will apply to most goods and services there are some exceptions: this includes supply of crude oil and natural gas, exports of goods, international services, healthcare and education which are zero rated supplies.
Furthermore, other supplies such as sale or lease of residential property are exempt from VAT.

Why is the UAE implementing VAT?

The UAE Federal and Emirate governments provide citizens and residents with many different public services – including hospitals, roads, public schools, parks, waste control, and police services. These services are paid for from the government budgets. VAT will provide our country with a new source of income which will contribute to the continued provision of high quality public services into the future. It will also help government move towards its vision of reducing dependence on oil and other hydrocarbons as a source of revenue.

When will VAT go into effect?

VAT will be implemented in the UAE, effective 1 January 2018 at the standard rate of 5%.

Who can or will be able to register for VAT?

A business must register for VAT if their taxable supplies and imports exceed the mandatory registration threshold of AED 375,000.
Furthermore, a business may choose to register for VAT voluntarily if their supplies and imports are less than the mandatory registration threshold, but exceed the voluntary registration threshold of AED 187,500.
Similarly, a business may register voluntarily if their expenses exceed the voluntary registration threshold. This latter opportunity to register voluntarily is designed to enable start-up businesses with no turnover to register for VAT.

الأسئلة المتداولة

ما هي ضريبة القيمة المضافة؟

ضريبة القيمة المضافة هي ضريبة غير مباشرة تطبق على استهلاك معظم السلع والخدمات. يتم فرض ضريبة القيمة المضافة على الشركات المسجلة في ضريبة القيمة المضافة التي تقوم بإمداد السلع والخدمات في سبيل تعزيز أعمالهم. وسوف تطبق ضريبة القيمة المضافة أيضا على استيراد السلع والخدمات.

هل ستغطي ضريبة القيمة المضافة جميع المنتجات والخدمات؟

سوف تطبق ضريبة القيمة المضافة على معظم معاملات السلع والخدمات ما لم يعفي القانون أو يستبعد على وجه التحديد. ضريبة القيمة المضافة في نهاية المطاف يتكبدها ويدفعها المستهلك النهائي. على الرغم من أن ضريبة القيمة المضافة ستطبق على معظم السلع والخدمات هناك بعض الاستثناءات: وهذا يشمل إمدادات النفط الخام والغاز الطبيعي، صادرات السلع، الخدمات الدولية، الرعاية الصحية، والتعليم، وهي إمدادات صفرية من حيث تصنيف الإمدادات. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن الإمدادات الأخرى مثل بيع أو تأجير العقارات السكنية معفاة من ضريبة القيمة المضافة.

لماذا تطبق دولة الإمارات ضريبة القيمة المضافة؟

توفر الحكومة الاتحادية وحكومة الإمارات للمواطنين والمقيمين العديد من الخدمات العامة المختلفة - بما في ذلك المستشفيات، الطرق، المدارس العامة، الحدائق، إدارة النفايات، وخدمات الشرطة. وتدفع هذه الخدمات من الميزانيات الحكومية. سوف توفر ضريبة القيمة المضافة لبلدنا مصدر جديد للدخل مما سيسهم في استمرار توفير الخدمات العامة عالية الجودة في المستقبل. مما سوف يساعد الحكومة أيضا على تحقيق رؤيتها المتمثلة في تقليل الاعتماد على النفط وغيره من الهيدروكربونات كمصدر للإيرادات.

متى ستدخل ضريبة القيمة المضافة حيز التنفيذ؟

سيتم تطبيق ضريبة القيمة المضافة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة اعتبارا من 1 يناير 2018 بمعدل قياسي قدره 5٪.

من يستطيع أو سيكون قادرا على التسجيل لضريبة القيمة المضافة؟

يجب أن تسجل الأعمال التجارية ضريبة القيمة المضافة إذا كانت لوازمها ووارداتها الخاضعة للضريبة تتجاوز عتبة التسجيل الإلزامية البالغة 375،000 درهم.
وعلاوة على ذلك، قد يختار العمل التجاري التسجيل لضريبة القيمة المضافة طواعية إذا كانت الإمدادات والواردات أقل من التسجيل الإجباري ولكنها تتجاوز عتبة التسجيل الطوعي البالغة 187،500 درهم.
وبالمثل، يمكن أن تسجل الأعمال التجارية طواعية إذا تجاوزت نفقاتها عتبة التسجيل الطوعي. إن فرصة التسجيل الطواعية تم تصميمها لتمكين الشركات المبتدئة التي ليس لها واردات من التسجيل لضريبة القيمة المضافة.